Forum logo Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 20, 2024, 01:07:40 AM
Home | Help | Login | Register Planet Bluegrass | Facebook | Twitter | Shop
News: This is the "archived" version of the old Festivarian Forum.  To create new posts, visit Festivarian.com

NavTree open  Festivarian Forum
NavTree sideNavTree open  General Category
NavTree downNavTree sideNavTree open  General Discussion (Moderators: TellurideTom, BluegrassNat)
NavTree downNavTree downNavTree sideNavTree open  Picked up the Mandolin
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
topic icon Author Topic: Picked up the Mandolin  (Read 14488 times)
dude
Kinda digging this festival thing...

Festivation rating 45

URL icon « on: April 19, 2009, 11:36:06 AM »

In no small part due to TBF as well as the larger Bluegrass/Folk community in Colorado, I started playing mandolin this year.  I had been thinking about picking up a stringed instrument for some time, but there was something about the ad hoc jams I saw last year around TBF that I enjoyed as much as the main show (un-amplified acoustic music is a whole different thing to me) that gave me that final push to do it. It's been enormously satisfying, pickin' (kind of) and grinnin' (real wide).

I won't be packing my mandolin to Telluride this year, but a year out I should be able to contribute chop chords in a jam. I get excited just thinking about that! Thanks for the inspiration, Planet Bluegrass and good festivarians.
IP address Logged

Abide
BluegrassDustin
Administrator
...is kind of a big deal

Festivation rating 420

Living Life With Delusions Of Banjur

URL icon « Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 09:46:14 AM »

Thumbs Up

Cheers
IP address Logged

"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those
who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."- Dr. Seuss

"An intellectual snob is someone who can listen to the William Tell Overture and not think of The Lone Ranger."   -Dan Rather
landshark